Board of Park Commissioners

The Board has maintenance control and responsibility over the real property and all improvements and buildings, along with all fixtures permanently affixed to such improvements and buildings, located in the parks of the City, including Hobart Arena, the Municipal Swimming Pool, the Senior Citizens Center and the Miami Shores Golf Club.

Governing Law: The Board of Park Commissioners is established in accordance with Section 933.01 of the Codified Ordinances and ORC Sections 755.14 and subsequent sections. 

Membership and Terms: Three Park Commissioners are appointed; each commissioner serves a term of three years. The board elects its own president and vice-president.

Appointment: All Park Commissioners are appointed by the Mayor.

Meeting Schedule: The Park Board meets on the First Tuesday of each month at 4:00 p.m. at City Hall.

Agendas: Available here.


Term Began: 
Term Expires
PresidentAlan M. KappersNovember 1981July 16, 2023
Vice PresidentJordan EmerickMarch 14, 2018June 30, 2025
Secretary Susan M. WestfallJuly 24, 2017July 16, 2024